Accessibility links


Sign In

Tansy Davies



English composer Tansy Davies makes her Royal Opera debut in the 2017/18 Season with her new work Cave, produced by the London Sinfonietta in association with The Royal Opera.

Davies was born in Bristol. She studied with Alan Bullard at Colchester Institute, Simon Bainbridge at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama and Simon Holt at Royal Holloway. Her music has been commissioned by ensembles and festivals including BBC Proms, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, BBC Symphony Orchestra, Birmingham Contemporary Music Group, Choir of King’s College, Cambridge, London Symphony Orchestra, National Youth Orchestra, New York Philharmonic, Philharmonia and Warsaw Autumn Festival, and she has collaborated with conductors including Thomas Adès, Oliver Knussen and Esa-Pekka Salonen. Works include the trumpet concerto Spiral House (for Mark O’Keeffe), the piano concerto Nature (for Huw Watkins), the concerto for four horns Forest, the orchestral/ensemble works Falling Angel, Tilting, Wild Card and Re-greening, the requiem As with Voices and with Tears (nominated for a South Bank/Sky Arts Award) and the carol Christmas Eve. Her works for stage include the opera Between Worlds (premiere directed by Deborah Warner for English National Opera, winner of a British Composer Award), and Omega and the Deer, a collaboration with choreographer Ingun Bjørnsgaard and composer Rolf Wallin, first performed at the Oslo International Dance Festival. Her music has been released by Nonclassical (Troubairitz) and NMC Recordings (spine).

Davies’s prizes include a 2009 Paul Hamelin Award. In 2015 she was included in the Evening Standard’s Progress 1000 list of the UK’s most influential people.

News and features

Why opera's future is more diverse than its past

21 September 2015
Why opera's future is more diverse than its past

Opera is reinventing itself and creating a more relevant, inclusive and dynamic art-form in the process.